2012 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees & Honorees Announced


Seth Meyers to Host Program to Celebrate the CFDA's 50th Anniversary

Swarovski will generously underwrite the CFDA Fashion Awards on June 4th at Alice Tully Hall

NEW YORK, March 15, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Last night, The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) announced the nominees, honorees and host for the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards at an exclusive event hosted by CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg at the designer's studio in the Meatpacking District.  

The 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards will be hosted by Seth Meyers, head writer and anchor of Saturday Night Live, and will be part of a yearlong celebration of the CFDA's 50th Anniversary. The Awards will take place on Monday, June 4th at Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall.

Von Furstenberg started the proceedings by thanking Nadja and Swarovski for their continued support of American fashion. Von Furstenberg and CFDA CEO Steven Kolb then made the announcements of nominees and honorees.

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.  The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Billy Reid, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr.  For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff

Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind, Joseph Altuzarra, and Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Antonio Azzuolo, Phillip Lim, and Todd Snyder.  For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene Neuwirth, Pamela Love, and Tabitha Simmons

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company's vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of people. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Tommy Hilfiger

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Scott Schuman & Garance Dore

The Fashion Icon Award will be given to Johnny Depp, the first male recipient to receive the award, for his personal and eclectic sense of style.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Andrew Rosen

The International Award will go to Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garcons for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.

"This year, as we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the CFDA, we can see what a critical role the CFDA Fashion Awards continue to play in our efforts to promote American Fashion," said Steven Kolb, CFDA CEO. "This year's nominees truly represent the important influence of American design.  We look forward to once again honoring the best and brightest talent working today. Winning a CFDA Fashion Award is the highest and one of the most coveted honors one can receive in our industry. All of this is made possible by the long-time support of Swarovski."

The yearlong celebration of the CFDA's 50th Anniversary kicked off in February with the exhibition opening at the Museum at F.I.T. titled IMPACT: Fifty Years of the CFDA and the companion book IMPACT: 50 Years of the Council of Fashion Designers of America which explores the impact of America's most influential designers over the last five decades.

"This year, Swarovski is proud to celebrate the 11th anniversary of our partnership with the CFDA Fashion Awards," said Nadja Swarovski, Member of the Executive Board, Swarovski Crystal Business. "Each of this year's nominees is truly an industry leader and part of the new generation of American talent.  In particular, we are immensely delighted with the nominees for the Swarovski Awards who are exceptionally talented and extraordinarily creative." 

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, made up of the 400+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed yesterday at a meeting of the CFDA Board of Directors.

The final votes will be tabulated by Ernst & Young LLP, the official accounting firm of the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards.

The 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards will be produced by KCD.

Collateral will be art directed by Laird + Partners.

Supporting Sponsors:

Lexus is the official automotive sponsor of the Awards.

Additionally, the CFDA would like to acknowledge:
Official airline: United Airlines
Official hotel: W Hotels Worldwide

About the CFDA - The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc, (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association founded in 1962 that leads industry-wide initiatives and whose membership consists of more than 400 of America's foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry, and accessory designers. In addition to hosting the annual CFDA Fashion Awards, which recognize the top creative talent in the industry, the organization offers programs which support professional development and scholarships, including the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholar Award, the Liz Claiborne Scholarship Award, the CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship, and the Gilt All Star Scholarship. Member support is provided through the Business Services Network, a high-profile group of companies offering designers strategic opportunities. The CFDA Foundation, Inc. is a separate, not-for-profit organized to mobilize the membership to raise funds for charitable causes. Through the Foundation, the CFDA created and manages Fashion Targets Breast Cancer; raises funds for HIV/AIDS organizations with 7th on Sale; addresses the issue of model health with The CFDA Health Initiative; and is a key participant in other programs such as the annual Fashion's Night Out. For more information, please visit,,,, and

About Swarovski - The Swarovski story began in 1895 when Daniel Swarovski invented a machine for cutting and polishing crystal. This machine not only revolutionized jewellery manufacturing, but also the worlds of art, design, fashion and cinema for over a hundred years. Today Swarovski is the world's leading producer of precision-cut crystal, genuine gemstones, and created stones and operates nearly 2,000 retail outlets in over 120 countries. The company has a rich history of working with internationally acclaimed designers including Karl Lagerfeld, Christian Lacroix, Coco Chanel and Christian Dior. Since joining the family business in 1995, Nadja Swarovski has built on this heritage by implementing a series of visionary design initiatives which have transformed the company's image, turning crystal into a much desired component in the creative industries, which is used at the forefront of designer trends across fashion, jewellery and design. Nadja Swarovski is committed to supporting and celebrating design and the arts by collaborating with both established and emerging international designers and costume designers - including, Alexander McQueen, Shaun Leane, John Pawson, Zaha Hadid, Jason Wu, Proenza Schouler, Mary Katrantzou, Hussein Chalayan, Colleen Atwood, Sandy Powell, Arianne Phillips and Alexandra Byrne - challenging them to push the boundaries of crystal use across fashion, jewellery, entertainment, art, architecture and design.

SOURCE The Council of Fashion Designers of America

Back to top