< Go Back


Chairman of Port Authority Board Retires After 30 Years of Service


Detroit/Wayne County Port Authority hosts reception to honor Arthur B. Blackwell II.

DETROIT, March 15, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- On Monday, March 19, 2012 the Detroit/Wayne County Port Authority (DWCPA) will host a Retirement Reception to honor Arthur B. Blackwell II for his 30 years of leadership service on its Board of Directors.  The reception (invitation only) will be held from 5:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m. at the Port Authority's offices located at 130 E. Atwater St., Detroit, Michigan  48226. Chuck Stokes, Anchor, WXYZ-TV Channel-7 will mc the event and Mayor Dave Bing will give remarks and a tribute.  Additional speakers will include Alisha Bell, Vice Chair of Wayne County Commission, Detroit Councilwoman Joann Watson, Sheriff Bennie Napoleon, Senator Coleman Young Jr., and labor leader Jimmy Settles. "It's been both a privilege and pleasure working with Arthur Blackwell II.  I have worked with all levels of government including the White House and I have not experienced true political leadership as exemplified by him," says John Jamian, DWCPA's executive director.

About Arthur B. Blackwell II

Blackwell had been appointed to DWCPA's Board of Directors by the Wayne County Board of Commissioners from 1982- 2012.  He is the longest serving member of the Board and he has served as its Chairman for 25 years, succeeding Henry Ford II the first Chairman of DWCPA's Board.  Currently, Blackwell is the founder, president and chief executive officer of DeWay Development Company.  He had served as Chairman of the Wayne County Board of Commissioners from 1988-1995 and Commissioner for the 3rd District from 1980-1982 and then he returned to the Commission in 1986 through 1995.

About the Detroit/Wayne County Port Authority

The Detroit/Wayne County Port Authority oversees and promotes commercial and recreation activities along 32 miles of the Detroit River from Lake St. Clair to the Wayne/Monroe County border.  Also it manages the largest Foreign Trade Zone in the USA.  The Port Authority was created in 1978 by the Michigan State Legislature to plan, develop and promote the greater Detroit area as a freight transportation and distribution hub for the Great Lakes.  It is governed by a five-member board of directors with one member appointed by the State of Michigan, two by Wayne County and two by the City of Detroit.  Funding for the Port Authority is provided by the State of Michigan, Wayne County and the City of Detroit

SOURCE Detroit/Wayne County Port Authority

Back to top