< Go Back


CyberPatriot Announces 2012 National Championship Winners


ARLINGTON, Va., March 26, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Air Force Association proudly congratulates the winners of CyberPatriot IV, the nation's largest and fastest growing high school cyber defense competition!

On March 23, 2012, CyberPatriot IV concluded its National Finals Competition at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center. Out of the 402 Open Division teams that originally registered, "Team Unknown" of Alamo Academies, of San Antonio, Texas, was the first place winner, taking home the President's Trophy. As for the All Service Division, out of 617 original registrants, "Wolfpack" of the Civil Air Patrol's Colorado Springs, Colorado Cadet Squadron took home first place and the Commander-in-Chief's trophy. The following are all of the top winners for CyberPatriot IV:

Open Division:

  • 1st place: Alamo Academies, San Antonio, Texas
  • 2nd place: Lewis and Clark High School, Spokane, Washington
  • 3rd place: Palos Verdes Peninsula High School, Rolling Hills Estates, California

All Service Division:

  • 1st place: Colorado Springs Cadet Squadron, Civil Air Patrol, Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • 2nd place: John R. Rogers High School, Air Force JROTC, Spokane, Washington
  • 3rd place: Clearfield High School, Air Force JROTC, Clearfield, Utah

The top three teams of each division were awarded during a banquet Friday evening and will collectively receive more than $50,000 in college scholarships from the Northrop Grumman Foundation, CyberPatriot's presenting sponsor.

CyberPatriot IV kicked off last October with more than 1,000 teams vying for a chance to compete among the top qualifying teams. All 50 states and U.S. Department of Defense Dependent Schools in Europe and the Pacific were represented in the two-track competition. Public, private, parochial and home schools registered in the Open Division, while Junior ROTC units of all Services and Civil Air Patrol squadrons filled the All Service Division. CyberPatriot IV also brought an international flavor to the competition with several teams from the Manitoba Province in Canada competing parallel to the American teams as the first international exhibition teams.

After three online preliminary rounds of hands-on cyber security, CyberPatriot finalists had an in-person challenge, competing face to face and defending virtual networks from a professional aggressor team. And new this year, the DoD Cyber Crime Center conducted the forensics portion of the competition, teaching and testing high school competitors on the exciting field of cyber forensics through the application of crime scene analysis, evidence gathering and critical thinking.  

Other CyberPatriot sponsors include founding partners SAIC and CIAS at the University of Texas-San Antonio, as well as AT&T, Boeing, General Dynamics, Microsoft, Raytheon, the Air Force Research Laboratory, MIT-Lincoln Laboratory, Cisco and URS.

Congratulations to all of the finalists! Registration for CyberPatriot V opens in April. More information is available at

Satellite Feed Information:
Monday, March 26, 2012    2:00 - 2:15 p.m. ET
Tuesday, March 27   10:30-10:45 a.m. ET and 2:00-2:15 p.m. ET
Galaxy 17 Ku-digital Transponder 19 Ch. A D/L: 12066.5 (H)
FEC: 3/4 Symbol Rate: 6.1113 Data rate: 8.448
Technical Info DURING FEED ONLY, NBN TOC, 212 - 684 – 8910, ext. 221

The Air Force Association is a non-profit, independent, professional military and aerospace education association. Our mission is to promote a dominant United States Air Force and a strong national defense, and to honor Airmen and our Air Force Heritage.  To accomplish this, we:

  • EDUCATE the public on the critical need for unmatched aerospace power and a technically superior workforce to ensure U.S. national security.
  • ADVOCATE for aerospace power and STEM education.
  • SUPPORT the Total Air Force family and promote aerospace education.

AFA has 200 chapters nationally and internationally representing more than 108,000 members.  Visit AFA on the internet at

SOURCE Air Force Association

Back to top